Oh = Bureau of Workers’
lO Compensation

Workers' Comp Basics for Professional
Employer Organizations (PEOS)

Ohio law mandates PEOs operating in Ohio register with
BWC and requires PEOs to submit GAAP-audited financial
statements on an annual basis to the bureau. A PEO is a sole
proprietor, partnership, association, limited liability company
or corporation that enters into an agreement with one or
more client employers to co-employ all or part of the client
employer’s workforce at the client employer’s work site.

PEO registration and financial statements
APEO mustregister with BWC within 30 days of commencing
operations in Ohio. Please call BWC at 1-800-644-6292 to
obtainThe Professional Employer Organization Registration
Application (UA-1). In addition, an initial $1,000 registration
fee, a yearly $250 renewal fee is due BWC by Dec. 31 for each
PEO policy. PEOs must submit audited financial statements
within 180 days of the close of the PEQ’s fiscal year.

Notifying BWC of a PEO agreement

A PEO must complete and submit the Professional Employer
Organization Client Relationship Notification (UA-3) for all
new PEO agreements or for a change in reporting within 30
days of the agreement’s effective date. If the PEO agreement
between a PEO and a client employer terminates, the PEO
must notify BWC and each client associated with it within 14
days from the effective date of termination. Effective Jan.1,
2016, a PEO may only enter into a new PEO agreement, or
modify an existing agreement and begin reporting claims
and payroll for the client employer on either Jan. 1 or July 1.
New client employers entering into a PEO agreement in the
middle of a payroll period must be reported on the client
policy, until the beginning of the next payroll reporting
period.

In a PEO agreement

A PEO that enters into a PEO agreement with a client
employer assumes the responsibility of employer of record
and shares any liabilities with the client employer. It is the
PEQ's responsibility to ensure the client employer maintains
active workers’ compensation coverage as long as itis in a
PEO agreement.

Payroll and claims reporting

Under a PEO agreement, the PEO may choose to report all
claims and payroll on either the PEO or client policy; or they
may chose to enter into a partial agreement, reporting a
portion of the payroll and claims under the PEO policy; PEOs
engaging in a partial lease must report shared employees’
wages under the PEQ’s federal tax ID number (FEIN) and
under the PEO’s BWC policy number. Any payroll reported
on the PEO policy must be completed on a monthly basis
on BWC's website.

Rates are impacted

If the PEO selects the option of reporting payroll and claims
under its policy, BWC transfers the appropriate experience
period payroll and claims to the PEO’s policy. BWC also
re-calculates its experience modifier to reflect the true
nature of historical exposure.

Obligations of a PEO

A PEO must perform all of the following functions: Provide
written notice to each shared employee it assigns to a
client employer; Pay wages and payroll taxes associated
with shared employees as established within the PEO
agreement; Maintain adequate employment related records
for employees; Maintain complete records, separately
listing the payroll and claims of its client employers for each
payroll-reporting period; Maintain workers’ compensation
coverage, pay all workers’ compensation premiums and
manage all workers’ compensation claims, filings, and
related procedures associated with a shared employee;

BWC may deny or revoke a PEO’s registration if it finds the
PEO failed to comply with the requirements of the law or

rules.

For more information, log on to www.bwec.ohio.gov, click
on Ohio Employers, then custom services and then PEO.
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