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Prospective Billing
Frequently Asked Questions — Public Employers

What is prospective billing?
Prospective billing requires employers to pay for their workers’ compensation coverage prior to the coverage
being effective.

Why is BWC switching to prospective billing?
Switching to prospective billing will bring us in line with the industry standard used by nearly all insurance
providers.

What are the benefits of transitioning to prospective billing?
The benefits of this change include:
e An overall base-rate reduction of approximately 4 percent
e Opportunities for more flexible payment options — up to 12 installments;
¢ Increased ability for us to detect non-compliance and fraud, which can provide long-term savings.

When does prospective billing start?
e For public employer taxing districts, prospective billing begins with the Jan. 1, 2016, policy period.

How will we transition employers to prospective billing?
To help ease the transition, we will provide a transition credit. Public employer taxing districts will receive a 2015
policy period payroll report and a 2016 invoice for the prospective policy period premium in March 2016. A mini-
mum of 50 percent payment is due in May 2016 for both policy periods.The remainder of the premium is due in
September. We will credit each of these by 50 percent. This will result in public employer taxing districts paying
roughly the same amount during 2016 that would have been due without the transition to prospective billing.

Will | get the transition credit if | am lapsed?
Public employer taxing districts must be in an active status on Jan. 1, 2016, to get the transition credit.
Will | get the transition credit if | am in a payment plan?
Employers on an approved payment plan will be eligible for the transition credit as long as they are in an
active status.

Why do | have to report payroll to get the transition credit and at true-up time?

Ohio law requires we set rates using actual payroll of Ohio employers. Thus, it is critical for us to get this
information.

How will | pay premium under prospective billing?
We will estimate a prospective premium based on the most recently completed policy year and send an invoice to
the employer. Employers will pay their estimated premium prior to us granting and providing coverage. We will
initially transition public employers to a monthly installment plan. If employers wish to select a different installment
option, they can make the change annually, prior to the start of the policy year.

At the end of each policy year, we will send employers a notice to true-up. This true-up will require employers to
report their actual payroll online at www.bwc.ohio.gov. We will then adjust your account based upon what you have
already paid.



What is the new minimum premium and why has the minimum premium increased?
The new minimum premium is $120 plus assessments. The assessments are dependent on the amount of expected
payroll and premium that the employer has on its account. A larger amount of expected payroll will result in a larger
assessment. We have not increased the minimum premium since 2007, which is eight years without an increase.
While we realize this is a 20-percent increase from the previous $100 minimum premium, your premium of just
$10 per month protects you from any claim you might incur.

What is the Minimum Premium Adjustment?

The minimum premium adjustment is an adjustment made to bring your calculated premium up to the minimum
premium of $120 plus assessments (BWC and Industrial Commission of Ohio administrative costs as well as the
charges for the Disabled Workers’ Relief Fund).

How will | know what to expect with the new billing system?

We will send a notice each November to all employers. This notice will include their installment schedule and will
break down their total estimated premium due by manual class. It will also include a certificate that is valid only if
premium and assessments, including installments are paid by the applicable due date.

What about the employer programs or rating plans in which | participate?
To allow us to notify employers of their premium obligations earlier each year, we have adjusted the program dead-
lines as described below.
e For public employer taxing districts:
o The group-rating sign-up deadline will be the last business day of May beginning with the Jan. 1, 2016,
rating year;
o The deadline for group-retrospective rating, individual-retrospective rating, the Deductible Program and
One Claim Program is now the last business day of July;
o The deadline to sign up for Destination: Excellence programs is now the last business day of November.

Important dates to remember

Date Event

Jan. 1, 2016 Policy year starts with prospective billing

March 31, 2016 Experience period snapshot date

May 15, 2016 giorspieprgsg(e%ft)premium due for Jan. 1, 2015, and 50 percent of premium due for Jan. 1, 2016
Sept. 1, 2016 Remainder of 2015 and 2016 premium due

Nov. 1, 2016 Mailing of estimated premium and installment schedule for the Jan. 1, 2017, policy year

Nov. 15, 2016 Deadline to update installment schedule to select the deferred payment option

Dec. 1, 2016 First invoice mailed for policy year 2017; due Jan. 3, 2017

Jan. 1, 2017 Annual payroll true-up report notice sent

Feb. 15, 2017 Annual payroll true-up report due



