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Reciprocal Exemption Statutes*

Note: \Whenever an Ohio employer has employees leaving Ohio to perform temporary requirements to avoid fines, stop-work orders and other penalties, including the actual
duties out of the state the employer is responsible for knowing the workers' cost of the claim brought under the laws of another state. If you are hiring residents of
compensation requirements of those jurisdictions. Each state has its own coverage other states, to work primarily outside of Ohio, Ohio coverage is not appropriate and
requirements. Some states provide an exemption period during which they recognize the reciprocal exemptions do not apply. Separate coverage should be secured.

Ohio coverage as exclusive for Ohio employees working temporarily there. On the

other hand, some states require Ohio employers to obtain workers’ compensation Disclaimer: The intent of this document is for general information purposes only. We
coverage under their laws for any work performed there, regardless of how brief. do not intend it to be a full and complete description of the law, nor as legal advice.
Generally, if a state does not specifically recognize BWC's State-Fund Insurance that The information below is subject to change. Therefore, we cannot guarantee it is
state will take jurisdiction for an injury occurring in that state even if the worker is only the most current and correct information. Employers should consult an insurance
travelling through a state when the injury occurs. If a jurisdiction does not recognize professional, private counsel, or the workers’ compensation agency in the other state
Ohio's extraterritorial coverage, an employer must comply with that jurisdiction’s to verify requirements of that state.

BWC coverage

Ohio border states Rl Comments State statute
Indiana Yes Appears customary to recognize extraterritorial coverage No statutory provision
West Virginia Yes For a period not exceeding 30 calendar days in any 365-day period § 85-8-7

Kentucky No §8342.670
Pennsylvania No

Michigan No

States that recognize BWC's State-Fund Insurance

BWC coverage

State . Comments State statute
recognized?
Arizona Yes Up to 90 continuous days §23-904
California Yes Up to 90 consecutive days §83600.5
Florida Yes _ For 10 consecutive days or no more than 25 total days in a calendar year, except construction §440 094
No — construction industry
S No . 90 consecutive days for construction industry § 34-9-121(b)(1)
Yes — construction
Louisiana Yes Appears customary to recognize extraterritorial coverage No statutory provision
Maine Yes Five consecutive days; 10 days in a 30-day period; or 30 in any 360-day period Title 39-A §113
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State . Comments State statute
recognized?
Maryland Yes Up to 90 consecutive days § 9-203
Mississippi Yes Up to 90 consecutive days 8 71-3-109
Montana ;\(les . Up to 90 consecutive days; all construction industry work requires Montana-specific coverage. § 39-71-402
0 — construction
Nevada Yes . All construction projects require Nevada-specific coverage. 8 616B.600
No — construction

Any employer whose employment results in significant contacts with North Dakota shall acquire

coverage with North Dakota Workforce Safety & Insurance. An employer has significant contacts
North Dakota Yes with North Dakota when any employee earns, or would have been expected to earn, 25 percent | s g5.08-01(4)
(monopolistic) or more of his/her gross annual wage or income from that employer for services rendered within

North Dakota, or if 25 percent of the employer's gross annual payroll is payable to employees for

services rendered in North Dakota.
Oregon Yes Up to 90 consecutive days & 656.126
Rhode Island Yes & 28-29-16
South Dakota Yes Up to 90 consecutive days & 62-3-14
Tennessee Yes 10 consecutive days or no more than 25 total days in a calendar year & 50-6-115
Texas Appears customary to recognize extraterritorial coverage No statutory provision
Utah Yes Up to 90 consecutive days & 34A-2-406
Washington Yes Yes, but employer must provide proof of coverage for all work performed in Washington. If

(monopolistic)

No — construction

the work requires a contractor’s license then you will need to open a workers' compensation
account and pay premiums in Washington.

Wyoming
(monopolistic)

Requires employers to submit out-of-state questionnaire to determine coverage requirements

States that DO NOT recognize BWC's State-Fund Insurance

State Sl coverage Comments State statute
recognized?

Alabama No Eg;gloyer must list Alabama in Section 3C of its workers’ compensation insurance, then up to 90 Title 25 Chapters 5-35

Alaska No

Arkansas No Employer must list Arkansas in Section 3C of its workers’ compensation insurance.
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States that DO NOT recognize BWC'’s State-Fund Insurance continued

BWC coverage

e Canizotly Comments State statute

Colorado No Employer must list Colorado in Section 3C of its workers’ compensation insurance.

Connecticut No

Delaware No

Hawaii No §386-6

Idaho No

Illinois No

lowa No

Kansas No Employer must list Kansas in Section 3C of its workers’ compensation insurance.

Massachusetts No

Minnesota No

Missouri No

Nebraska No

New Hampshire No

New Jersey No

New Mexico No

New York No

North Carolina No

Oklahoma No

South Carolina No

Vermont No

Virginia No

Washington D.C. No

Wisconsin No
* A reciprocal exemption statute of State B will recognize the extraterritorial right of (A) The extraterritorial provisions of this division are recognized in the other state;
the workers’ compensation insurance provision of State A only if State A recognizes
the extraterritorial provisions of State B. The statutory language typically will provide: (B) The employers and employees who are covered in this state are likewise exempted

from the application of the workers’ compensation insurance or similar laws of the

(1) An employee who has been hired outside of this state and his or her employer other state;
shall be exempted from the provisions of this division while the employee is
temporarily within this state doing work for his or her employer if the employer (2) In any case in which paragraph (1) is satisfied, the benefits under the workers’
has furnished workers’ compensation insurance coverage under the workers’ compensation insurance or similar laws of the other state, and other remedies under those
compensation insurance or similar laws of a state other than California, so as to cover laws, shall be the exclusive remedy against the employer for any injury, whether resulting
the employee's work while in this state if both of the following apply; in death or not, received by the employee while working for the employer in this state.

3



