Summary of Major Laws Protecting Injured Workers from Discrimination*

	LAW
	EMPLOYERS COVERED
	EMPLOYEES COVERED
	EMPLOYER OBLIGATIONS
	PROCEDURE FOR FILING COMPLAINT
	MAJOR REMEDIES AVAILABLE

	R.C. 4123.90 and Related Rights 
	Employers subject to the Ohio workers’ compensation laws.
	Employees covered by the Ohio workers’ compensation laws.
	Employer may not “discharge, demote, reassign, or take any punitive action against any employee because the employee filed a claim or instituted, pursued or testified in any proceedings” under the Ohio workers’ compensation laws.
	Notify employer in writing of a claimed violation within 90 days of the violation, and then file suit in common pleas court in the county of employment within 180 days of the violation. (Additional time might be available to bring a common law or other cause of action.)
	Reinstatement, back pay, lost wages, attorney fees.

(Further relief, such as punitive damages, is available in a common law action.)

	Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
	Generally, employers having 15 or more employees during 20 or more calendar weeks in the current or preceding calendar year.
	A “qualified individual with a disability,” described as a person having a physical or mental impairment that “substantially limits one or more of the major life activities,” or having a record of or being regarded as possessing such an impairment. Major life activities include caring for oneself, performing manual tasks, walking, seeing, hearing, speaking, breathing, learning and working.
	Employer may not use the disability as a basis for discriminating against employee in regard to terms, conditions or privileges of employment. Employer required to accommodate employee’s known physical or mental limitations, unless accommodation would impose an “undue hardship” on the employer. Reasonable accommodation can include making facilities accessible, job restructuring, acquisition or modification of equipment or devices, part-time or modified work schedules, or reassignment to a vacant position. Reasonable accommodation can also include permitting employee to use accrued paid leave, or supplying additional unpaid leave, for necessary treatment.
	File complaint with the Ohio Civil Rights Commission (OCRC) or U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) within 180 days of the discriminatory act. In some circumstances, complaints may be filed with the EEOC within 300 days of the discriminatory act.

OCRC phone #: 1-888-278-7101
OCRC website: www.state.oh.us/crc

EEOC phone #: 1-800-669-4000
EEOC website: www.eeoc.gov
Other phone #s for ADA information:

Job Accomm. Network: 1-800-526-7234

Great Lakes ADA Info: 1-800-949-4232 
	Reinstatement, back pay, promotion, compensatory damages, punitive damages, injunction, attorney fees.

	Ohio 
Civil Rights Laws
	Generally, employers having 4 or more employees in Ohio. The State and all political

subdivisions are also covered.
	A “qualified disabled person,” described as a person having a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits a major life activity, or having a record of or being regarded as possessing such an impairment.
	Similar prohibition on discrimination and duty to provide reasonable accommodation as under the ADA.
	File complaint with the Ohio Civil Rights Commission (OCRC) within 6 months of the discriminatory act.  (Complaint will be referred to EEOC if filed between 6 months and 300 days of the discriminatory act.) File lawsuit within 6 years of the discriminatory act.

OCRC phone #: 1-888-278-7101

OCRC website: www.state.oh.us/crc
	Reinstatement, back pay, damages, upgrading of employment status, injunction.

	Rehabilita-tion Act of 1973
	Section 503 covers federal contractors (including subcontractors) having a contract in excess of $10,000 with a federal agency or department. Section 504 covers participants in any program or activity receiving federal financial assistance.
	A “qualified individual with a disability,” which has a similar definition as in the ADA.
	Same prohibition on discrimination and same duty to provide reasonable accommodation as under the ADA.
	For a violation of Section 503, file complaint with the Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP) within 300 days of violation, unless time extended for good cause shown. For a violation of Section 504, file lawsuit within 2 years of violation.  OFCCP phone #:  202-693-0101 
OFCCP website: www.dol.gov/esa/ofccp     
	For a violation of Section 503, OFCCP can seek back pay, injunction, and other appropriate relief for employee. For a violation of Section 504, court can award reinstatement, compensatory damages, back pay, injunction, attorney fees.

	Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)
	Generally, all public employers and those private employers having 50 or more employees for each working day during each of 20 or more calendar weeks in the current or preceding calendar year.
	An employee who has been employed for 12 months by the employer, has 1250 hours of service with the employer during the previous 12 months, and is at a location where at least 50 employees are employed within 75 miles.  
	During a 12-month period, employer must provide up to 12 weeks of job-protected unpaid leave for “a serious health condition” that renders employee unable to perform the functions of employee’s position.  When employee is on FMLA leave, employer must maintain coverage under any “group health plan” under the same conditions coverage would have been provided had the employee not gone on leave. Upon returning from FMLA leave, employee is entitled to be restored to the position held when leave commenced or restored to an equivalent position having equivalent pay and benefits.  
	File complaint with Wage and Hour Division of U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) “within a reasonable time” of the violation, but in no event later than the deadline for filing a lawsuit in court. DOL or employee may file a lawsuit within 2 years of a violation, and within 3 years of a willful violation.

Wage and Hour Division phone #s:

Cincinnati District: 513-684-2942

Cleveland District: 216-357-5400
Columbus District: 614-469-5678 or 77

Website: www.dol.gov/esa/dwh
	Reinstatement, damages, promotion, injunction, attorney fees.


*For legal citations and additional information, see BWC Legal Operations’ March 12, 2004, memorandum on Employer Discrimination Against Injured Workers.
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