State Agencies | Online Services  
En Español
Twitter Youtube Facebook Blog

Online support available
Monday through Friday
7:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Click here to get help!
secondary navigation bar logon help print search glossary contact e-account
OhioBWC - Home:  Current News

For immediate release: May 5, 2014

Safety Councils recognized for leadership in promoting workplace safety

Ashtabula Safety Council takes highest honor for third consecutive year

COLUMBUS - Ohio Bureau of Workers' Compensation (BWC) Administrator and CEO Steve Buehrer today announced the annual safety council of the year award winners. The councils are among 81 across the state that serve as partners in BWC's efforts to educate employers and workers about the importance of workplace safety.

"Congratulations to each council recognized this year for their outstanding work to keep workplace safety at the forefront for businesses in their communities," Buehrer said. "Employers that haven't yet discovered the benefits of joining a safety council should strongly consider making this small commitment to the health and well being of their workforce; a commitment that has the added benefit of bringing their workers' comp costs down."

The Ashtabula Safety Council received the top recognition for the third year in a row for its commitment to helping employers understand how effective workplace safety and health programs can increase the overall productivity of their businesses. Sponsored by the Ashtabula County Technical & Career Center, the safety council provides a variety of innovative safety services, information and resources to employers in the northeast corner of Ohio.

Following is the list of other safety councils recognized for their efforts to promote safety, excellent programming, communication, organization and fulfillment of program requirements.

  • Portage County Safety Council (2nd place)
  • Huron County Safety Council and Licking County Safety Council (tied for 3rd place)
  • Ashland Area Safety Council (4th place)
Honorable mentions also went to the Miami County Safety Council, Knox County Safety Council, Lorain County Safety Council, Lake County Safety Council, Summit County Safety Council, Stark County Safety Council, Greater Cleveland Safety Council, Cleveland Southwest Safety Council, Medina County Safety Council and West Central Ohio Safety Council.

In accordance with BWC's Destination Excellence program, employers have until July 31 to enroll in a local safety council.

Visit or call 1-800-644-6292 for more information about the Safety Council Program.

Follow BWC on Twitter.

# # #