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In Ohio companies must provide workers 
compensation coverage for their employees

C i t l ith th kCompanies must comply with the workers 
compensation laws of every state in which 
they have employees

Ohio is one of only four states that have a 
monopolistic workers compensation system

This system prohibits the purchase of private 
policies to cover Ohio exposurepolicies to cover Ohio exposure

Ohio allows for some self insurance for larger 
companies on stable financial footing

Some states mandate that employers 
operating in their state have coverage from 
their state 

Examples of this include New York and Kentucky
Some state’s allow for a temporary employeeSome state s allow for a temporary employee 
to be covered by the home state

Examples of this include Indiana and Michigan

Full NY Workers' Compensation Coverage Required
An out-of-state employer with an individual or individuals working in New York State is required to have a full 
NYS workers' compensation insurance policy if that employer (as defined in the WCL) meets ANY of the following 
criteria:
The employer (as defined in the WCL) is required to register with the NYS Department of Labor and pay 
Unemployment Insurance for any period in question.
The employer has a permanent physical location in New York or has employees whose primary work location is 
here. 
The employer is operating in New York under a permit, contract, or license granted by the State of New York, its 
counties or any municipality as defined under §57 of the Workers' Compensation Law.counties or any municipality as defined under §57 of the Workers  Compensation Law.
The employer is working as a contractor/general contractor/subcontractor on a construction project in New 
York.
In the previous year, the employer had employees physically in New York for: 
◦ at least 40 hours of every week for a period of longer than 2 consecutive weeks; or
◦ had employees present in New York for 25 or more individual days (e.g.- 5 employees working for 5 days in 

New York equals 25 individual employee days). 
Employees traveling through the State not stopping for deliveries, pick-ups, or other work are not deemed to 
have worked a day here. An employer that has reason to know that it will meet these criteria in the current year, 
even if it has not done so in the prior year, must obtain the required coverage. 
If an out-of-state employer with an individual or individuals working in New York State meets any of the above 
requirements, NY MUST be listed on Item 3A on the Information Page of an employer's workers' compensation 
insurance policy. This means that the employer is fully covered under the NY Workers' Compensation Law.
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Full NY Workers' Compensation Coverage NOT Required, 3C Coverage Acceptable
When out-of-state employers send employees into New York for work purposes and a full, statutory NYS 
workers' compensation insurance policy is not required, the employer must have such coverage for workers' 
compensation as required under the laws of its state, and New York must be listed in item 3C on the Information 
Page of the employer's workers' compensation insurance policy. If the insurance carrier writing the out-of-state 
employer's workers' compensation insurance policy is not authorized by the NYS Insurance Department to write 
workers' compensation and employers' liability coverage in New York, for the 3C coverage to comply with this 
policy, the insurance carrier must have completed, signed, and filed the Statement of Compliance With Workers' 
Compensation Law with the Chair, Form C-105.11.
An out-of-state employer having a new worker's compensation insurance policy issued after February 1, 2011 
by a private insurance carrier not licensed in New York and listing New York under 3C of that policy will notby a private insurance carrier not licensed in New York and listing New York under 3C of that policy will not 
qualify for the specific exemptions set forth in the Out-of-State Employers Policy statement unless the carrier 
completes, signs, and files the Statement of Compliance With Workers' Compensation Law with the Chair, Form 
C-105.11.
The Board will post on its website a list of all carriers that have filed the Statement of Compliance with Workers' 
Compensation Law, and will provide periodic updates to such listing.

Indiana will look at the totality of the 
circumstances and may assert jurisdiction 
over a claim, however normally there is a 90 
day period that an employee may be in the 
state before coverage is requiredstate before coverage is required.

States can decide to assert jurisdiction over 
claims for several reasons
Ohio BWC will not pay for claims filed in 
another state, unless that state denies the 
claim based on jurisdiction and sends theclaim based on jurisdiction and sends the 
claim back to Ohio
The injured worker chooses where to file a 
claim

Which State Worker’s Compensation Program 
Applies?
Every State has its own workers’ compensation system. When work is performed in more than one state, it may 
be difficult to determine which state’s compensation system applies. A common rule is that a state may apply its 
worker’s compensation system if there is a contract for employment in the state. The employment contract can 
be written, oral, or implied. However, state worker’s compensation laws may also be applied in:
· the employee’s state of residence,
· any state in which the employee performs work and· any state in which the employee performs work, and 
· the state in which the employer insured its workers’ compensation liability. 
The employee may have the right to file a claim for benefits in all states in which there might be coverage. 
However, if a successive award is made, the employee will generally be required to repay the previous award 
(double compensation is not allowed). Employees should contact an attorney or the relevant state workers’ 
compensation authorities for information on workers’ compensation law and procedure in states other than 
Indiana. 
Indiana can apply its workers’ compensation law when the Board finds a contract of employment made in 
Indiana or a contract providing for performance (work) in Indiana.
Although some states utilize election forms which allow the employee to only bring claims for workers’ 
compensation in that state, Indiana does not recognize such forms as barring the employee from filing a claim 
in Indiana if our state’s requirements for jurisdiction have been met.

Employers in Ohio who have employees 
working both in and out of Ohio could face 
an out of state exposure.

Use of C110s and C112sUse of C110s and C112s
◦ Can only be used when the contract for 

employment occurs outside of the state of Ohio
◦ Is not enforceable in other states

Jurisdiction – Must comply with all statutes, 
rules and regulations 
◦ Reporting Deadlines
◦ Claims Management

Payment – Must pay all claims and premium 
◦ Uncovered claims
◦ Premium
◦ Interest and Penalties
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C-110 - Employer/Employee Agreement to Select Ohio as the 
State of Exclusive Remedy for Workers’ Compensation Claims

C-112 - Employer/Employee Agreement to Select a State 
Other Than Ohio as the State of Exclusive Remedy for y
Workers’ Compensation Claims

◦ Caveats to using these forms

◦ An employee who enters into an employment contract outside of 
Ohio may work in another state some or all of the time. This leads 
to the possibility that Ohio’s workers’ compensation laws may 
conflict with those of the other state. In these cases, Ohio law 
allows employers and employees to choose workers’ compensation 
coverage from Ohio or from the other state.

Important notes: (1) Neither form C-112 nor C-110 can create 
jurisdiction where none exists. The forms merely clarify which 
state’s laws will apply in the event of a conflict between states 
having jurisdiction over an employer and employee. (2) Although 
BWC honors a valid C-112 in Ohio, the laws of another state might 
not recognize the terms of the agreement. Consult the workers’ 
compensation agency in the other state or private counsel to verify 
the validity of this agreement outside Ohio.

Prior to SB 334 companies faced paying twice 
for work comp coverage
◦ You were required to report 100% of payroll to Ohio 

BWC and to pay premium on that amount
◦ You should have been paying the other states for p y g

the time the drivers spent in those other states

SB 334 allows employers to bifurcate payroll 
based on where the service is performed.

Employers must notify BWC of intent
◦ Done by filing a U-131
Employers must split payroll using an 
auditable formula 
Employers must file a copy of theEmployers must file a copy of the 
declarations page with BWC
Employers must file a special payroll report 
showing the split by state
◦ Done by filing a U-146 provided by BWC

Employers can purchase coverage through 
each state 

E l h ll t t lEmployers can purchase an all-states plan 
through a private insurance carrier
◦ Great American Insurance
◦ Other private options

BWC offers several savings programs for Ohio 
Employers
◦ Group Rating
◦ Group Retrospective 
◦ Safety Council Meetingsy g
◦ Drug Free Workplace

TPA’s are helpful in determining the best 
program for an individual employer
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Rates
◦ Private insurance products do not have discounts 

similar to group rating
◦ This could result in overall higher costs
Experience Modp
◦ Employees determine where worker comp claimed 

filed
◦ Splitting payroll reduces the payroll in the 

calculations for the EM, however there is no 
adjustment for the claims history

Questions ???
Sherri Warner

swarner@ohiotruckingassn.org
614 221 5375614-221-5375

o Points of view, ideas, products, demonstrations 
or devices presented or displayed at the Ohio 
Safety Congress & Expo do not constitute y g p
endorsements by BWC. BWC is not liable for 
any errors or omissions in event materials.


