Minimum Administrative Charge
Ohio Administrative Code (OAC) 4123-17-26,
July 1, 2015
Minimum Administrative Charge dated May 19, 2014.
New policy, issued August 22, 2006; Revised May 19,
2014; July 1, 2015.
July 1, 2020
The Ohio Bureau of Workers’
Compensation (BWC) will apply the minimum administrative charge to employers in
accordance with the applicable laws and rules.
This policy applies to private
employers (PA), public employer taxing district employers (PEC), marine
industry fund employers, authorized representatives, BWC Policy Processing,
Finance, Employer Services, Field Operations, and Call Center.
Amounts billed to employers to fund the administrative (operating) costs of BWC
and the Industrial Commission of Ohio and the Disabled Workers’ Relief Fund
modification: An adjustment applied to the base rate as defined in OAC 4123-17-03(D).
C. Pure premium:
The premium calculated using the payroll, base rate, and experience
modification, excluding administrative cost and Disabled Workers’ Relief Fund
A. BWC sets the
annual minimum administrative charge for PA and PEC employers as follows:
the employer reports zero payroll, the employer will pay a minimum annual
administrative charge of $120.
the employer reports payroll resulting in a pure premium less than the minimum
administrative charge of $120:
will apply an adjustment to the employer’s account equal to the difference
between the employer’s calculated pure premium and the minimum administrative
employer will pay assessments associated with the pure premium in addition to
the $120 charge.
$120 minimum administrative charge is effective:
PA employers: Policy years beginning on or after July 1, 2015.
PEC employers: Policy years beginning on or after January 1, 2016.
B. BWC sets
the minimum administrative charge at $50 semi-annually or $100 annually for
marine industry fund employers.
charges apply to payroll reports submitted on or after July 1, 2012.
will charge the minimum administrative amount to a marine industry fund
employer that estimates zero payroll or calculates estimated premium due less
than the minimum administrative amount.
C. The minimum
administrative charge does not apply to:
to coverage payroll periods.
following employer types:
D. Minimum premium
requirements for black lung employers are set forth in OAC 4123-21-03.